Central Asian Regional Economic Cooperation (CAREC)

  • Central Asia Regional Economic Cooperation program covers 11 countries (Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Tajkistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan & China), supported by Asian Development Bank, World Bank, EBRD, IsDB, IMF and UN.
  • $31.5bn invested since inception in 2001, primarily funded by ADB (36% of total), World Bank (22%), IsDB (6%) and EBRD (5%).
  • Transport projects ($8.75bn), energy ($2.3bn) and trade facilitation ($358mn).
  • Major recipients: Kazakhstan ($8.6bn), Azerbaijan ($5.9bn), Uzbekistan ($5.6bn).